Founder’s and the Roasted Vegetarian Sandwich…not the Grandwich

July 22, 2014

Chickie #1:

It’s Grandwich time here in Grand Rapids. And that means a number of restaurants in town do their best to create some innovative and pretty darn good sandwiches, many sourcing local ingredients.  And so it was time to try a couple of them out.

First was a trip to Founder’s on a beautiful evening. Perfect to sit outside on a picnic table.

To order food at Founder’s, you go up to a window to place and pick-up your order. Not my favorite system, but it is what it is. Since my dining partner was on crutches, the waiter offered a menu for him to look at – much appreciated!  I got his dinner order and left him behind as I went to stand in line to place our order. I knew I wanted the Grandwich, so I didn’t even look at the menu.

It was about 7:30 pm and the place was hopping! But really – you can be at Founder’s during a blizzard at 11:30 am and it will still be hopping (beer pun). This place does the business!  I used to work next door and was amazed at the number of cars there at 7:30 am. No – not left-overs from the night before – but people holding morning meetings there.

OK, back to the food. So I left my dining partner and his crutches to fend for himself at the picnic table while I stood in line behind approximately 12 people. The line moved pretty quickly. GASP! As we turned the corner I read the “sandwich board” – get it – that the Grandwich was sold out. Crud!  Now I had to quickly pick a sandwich.  So I went with my standby, the Roasted Vegetarian.

Founder's Roasted Vegetarian

Founder’s Roasted Vegetarian

Not exactly the porchetta sandwich I was counting on – but very good as I expected. A full sandwich with thick slices of zucchini and summer squash which has been marinated in a nice balsamic vinaigrette. There was also fresh slices of red onion, red pepper and baby spinach and a generous serving of the Founder’s Centennial IPA mustard on a lightly grilled sourdough bread.  But it really was the zucchini and squash which were the standouts in the sandwich.  I would definitely order it again.

My dining partner ordered the Founder’s Cheesesteak.  I only took time out for one bite – as I truly enjoyed mine.  It was good. He especially liked it and was happy. I really can’t give much feedback to be honest.  But I did snap a picture.

Founder's Cheesesteak

Founder’s Cheesesteak

So halfway through my sandwich I totally forgot we even came for the Grandwich.  But we did eventually come back – and I scored one. But….that’s another blog to come.

 

 

 

Leave a comment